Photography and Digital Media Show 2017: Judging Results


This year's Photo and Digital Media Show was judged by local photographer Jim Swallow, who has been doing photography since 1972. Jim and his wife Cheryl created the Photographic Art Society  in Tampa Bay to "encourage other photographers in their quest for artistic excellence." He is a PPA Certified Professional Photographer, member of the Tampa Area Professional Photographers Association, Professional Photographers Guild of Florida, The Florida Professional Photographers Association, and The National Association of Photoshop Professionals.

Here's what Jim had to say about this year's show:

The photography exhibit this year had a lot of great images making it very difficult to decide. It is great to see photographic artists of all skill levels enter and show their work in a gallery environment. Many of you will be inspired by the images and will continue to grow as artists. The image I chose as first place stood out from the very beginning with striking color and a bold presentation. Second place was an animal portrait that showed it’s personality, the focus was perfect the emphasis was where it needed to be. The third place image starts you on a journey at the top and leads you to the prize at the bottom.  All the image that received awards tell a story and move the viewer. It is important when creating images that you move the viewer and most of the images did. I encourage all of you to continue your pursuit of creative photography and learn from the experience of entering and showing your work and strive each time to create images that move the viewer.

Thank you
Jim Swallow

Congratulations to our winners!

First Place: "The First Breakfast" by Jojhan Castillo

"The First Breakfast" by Jojhan Castillo

John Guiseppi_2nd.jpg

Second Place: "Anhinga" by John Guiseppi

Third Place "Marjorie's Garden" by Christa Joyner Moody

Christa Joyner Moody Photography: Earth, Wind, Fire and Water &emdash; IMG_2395

Glen Depasse_HM.jpg

Honorable Mention: "Copilot" by Glen Depasse

Honorable Mention:
"La Catrina" by Jose Rosello

Jose Rosello_HM.jpg

Derry MacDonald_HM.jpg

Honorable Mention:
"Art on the Beltine" by Derry MacDonald